Change Management

Published by admin on

What are the seven stages of the Transition State?
1. Leading the Change
2. Framing the Shared Need
3. Describing the End State
4. Mobilizing Commitment of Key Stakeholders
5. Identifying Systems and Levers for Alignment
6. Communicate the Change
7. Tracking Progress
Define Change.
Change is the process of making improvements within an organisation to remain competitive within the market.
Define Change Management.
Change Management is the process of managing change and development within a business to improve the likelihood of success.
Why do employees resist change? List three reasons.
1. The change was communicated poorly.
2. They do not see the need for change.
3. They are tired of phony change (change for the sake of it) and want real change.
What are examples of ‘systems, structures and levers for resistance’?
1. Staffing
2. Training and Development
3. Measures, rewards and recognition
4. Communication
5. Organisation Structure
6. Information Systems
7. Budgeting & measurement systems
8. Performance planning and review processes
9. Policies and procedures
What percentage of change Initiatives fail?
Give three examples of external factors that may influence change:
1. Technology – innovations in new technology may force a business to change in order to remain effective and competitive within the market
2. Competition – new competitor within the market
3. Government – changes in government legislation may impact upon the operations of the business e.g. safety regulations
List the 6 stages of John Fisher’s Trans Theoretical Model of Behaviour Change:
1. Pre-contemplative
2. Contemplative
3. Planning
4. Action
5. Maintenance
6. Termination
Describe each of these stages:
1. Pre contemplative: In this stage, employees are not interested in change, can not see the need to change and have no intention of doing things differently. They defend their current behaviour and avoid any information regarding the change. This group is considered to be ‘resistant’, ‘unmotivated’ or ‘in denial’.

2. Contemplative: In this stage, people are starting to think about the issue and the possible need to change. They recognise that change is inevitable and is occurring, so they may as well start to do something about it. This group is now becoming more optimistic, although they are still seen as procrastinators ambivalent; however what they are really doing is weighing up the pros and cons of change.

3. Planning: People are starting to realise how serious the situation is, and make a decision to commit to the change and is currently implementing ‘pre-change’ steps with a view to make the change within the next month. This stage also has an information gathering period. This stage is typified by determination, making plans, introspection and reaffirmation.

4. Action: This stage applies to those people who have made a real and overt effort to change and modify their attitudes. This stage is the ‘will power’ stage and short term rewards to sustain motivation are commonly used. This group is also prone to analyse any behaviour changes to enhance their self-confidence and to help make better plans to deal with either personal or external pressures.

5. Maintenance: By this stage, people are working to consolidate any changes in their behaviour to maintain the ‘new; status quo and to prevent relapse or temptation. The former behaviour is no longer seen as desirable and a number of coping strategies have been put in place and are working.

6. Termination: the cycle of change has been reached. The change has been fully integrated and all resistance terminated.

What are the two types of leaders?
Technical and Cultural.
How do cultural leaders manage change?
Cultural leaders lead with vision and takes into consideration the needs of individuals and aligns systems and levers to make change as successful as possible.
How do technical leaders manage change?
Technical leaders plan and execute the change by taking into account the technical aspects of the change and implementing them without considering the needs and wants of individuals.
What are the two types of change?
Cultural and Structural. Cultural change is offered to the employee and is often successful, whereas structural change is forced (foisted) upon employees and thus is often less successful.
What are the advantages of self-service scanners?
– They speed up transaction times
– Free staff to serve customers on the floor
– Takes up less space than a manned till
What are the disadvantages of self-service scanners?
– Requires too much staff oversight
– Increased theft
– Glitches in the scales cause customer dissatisfaction
– Low customer service
– Technical issues may cause the process to take longer
What are the three types of resistance?
1. Technical
2. Political
3. Cultural
Define each of these types of resistance:
1. Technical – the employee may have a lack of skills which could cause difficulty in learning the technical aspects of the change. Habit and inertia may also increase the difficulty in adapting to the new paradigm.

2. Political – an employee may feel there is a threat to their position within the organisation. There may be a power and authority imbalance and employees will use power-plays to reinstate their position.

3. Cultural – the employee may be afraid to change because they are locked into their old mind-set. They will use selective perception to decide which information is relevant to them.

What do the four doors in the ‘4 Door’ response to resistance represent?
1st Door – Things that employees were allowed to do before and are still allowed to do now.

2nd Door – things employees couldn’t do before and still can’t do now.

3rd Door – things employees could do before but can’t do now.

4th Door – things employees couldn’t do before but can do now.

What is the ‘Renovators Delight’ response to employee resistance?
What would you keep, chuck, change or add? Renovators delight is about giving employees authorship rather than ownership which empowers them to make decisions and take control of the change.
Categories: Change Management